Name Picture Brief Summary
James K. Batten
James K. Batten received the William Allen White Award for Outstanding Journalistic Merit for his civic journalism ideals and practices. In his acceptance speech, Batten expressed concern for the recent decline of civic engagement in communities across the country. He urged journalists to immerse themselves their communities arguing that newspapers "have the best chance for drawing people in from the apathetic periphery to the vibrant center of community life."
Charlayne Hunter-Gault
Charlayne Hunter-Gault has built a reputation for being one of broadcast’s premier journalists. She exceeded boundaries throughout her life starting with being the first female African-American student to attend the University of Georgia. Desegregating the university was a struggle, but she perservered and was the first African-American woman to graduate from University of Georgia.
Louis Boccardi
Louis Boccardi is president and chief executive officer of the Associated Press. He has served in this position for the past seventeen years. Boccardi, who has worked for the Associated Press since 1967, has served in numerous posts including executive vice president, chief operating officer, and executive editor in charge of news operations.
George F. Will
George F. Will is an ABC News commentator, Pulitzer Prize winner, and author of a syndicated column which appears in more than 450 newspapers and a biweekly column in Newsweek magazine.
Bernard Shaw
Bernard Shaw was known as the principal anchor for the Cable News Network during the 1990s. When he retired in February 2001, he ended a broadcasting career that spanned nearly 40 years. While at CNN, Shaw covered numerous world events. In January 1991, he was one of three reporters who covered the first night of the Allied Coalition bombings of Iraq in "Operation Desert Storm." Shaw also brought CNN viewers 30 hours of continuous live coverage of the Tiananmen Square riots in Beijing in May 1989.
Ellen Goodman
Goodman was born in Boston in 1941. After graduating cum laude from Radcliffe College in 1963, Goodman was hired as a researcher at Newsweek. She became a reporter for the Detroit Free Press in 1965, and then moved to the Boston Globe in 1967.
Hedrick L. Smith
Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, author and executive producer Hedrick Smith has spent more than 40 years as a journalist, during which time he has used his experience abroad to help cultivate a portfolio that includes both documentaries and best-selling books.
David S. Broder
David Broder, the 1997 winner of the William Allen White medal, graduated with honors from the University of Chicago with a bachelor's degree in liberal arts in 1947. He earned his master's degree in political science from the University of Chicago in 1951.
Bill Kurtis
Bill Kurtis received the William Allen White award in 1998. Having graduated from the University of Kansas in 1962 with a bachelor's degree in journalism, the award was nothing new to Kurtis.
Albert R. Hunt
Today, Albert R. Hunt is a mainstay on the political talk show circuit. His appearances are the A-list of talk television: CNN's Capitol Gang, NBC's Meet the Press, PBS's Washington Week in Review, and the CBS Morning News.


Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today