Donor Lists

Lifetime Donors

We gratefully recognize the individuals and corporations/foundations who have generously donated $250,000 and above to the University of Kansas William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Corporate/Foundation Donors:

  • Estate of Mary Jane Floersch
  • The Freedom Forum
  • William Randolph Hearst Foundation
  • John S. & James L. Knight Foundation
  • McCormick Foundation
  • Louis L. & Adelaide C. Ward Foundation

Individual Donors:

  • Malcolm W. Applegate & Constance L. Applegate
  • Mary D. Austin
  • Dennis N. Branstiter
  • Richard C. Clarkson
  • Hubert M. Floersch, MD, & Carol Mayer Hassig Floersch
  • Mary Haynes Floersch
  • John P. Kaiser & Mary S. Kaiser
  • Michael C. Kirk & Julia Turtle Kirk
  • Elizabeth A. Leech & Steven C. Frazier 
  • Linda Ward O’Hara
  • Charles L. Parcell & Alice C. Parcell
  • Diane Gray Quinn & Thomas H. Quinn
  • Robert P. Sigman
  • John H. Stauffer Sr. & Barbara E. Stauffer
  • Oscar S. Stauffer & Cornelia Stauffer
  • Ruth Granger Stauffer
  • William Keith Swinehart Sr. & Maxine Swinehart
  • Adelaide C.Ward & Louis L. Ward
  • Arthur H. Wolf & Catherine M. Wolf
  • Helena L. Wooldridge & Norris S. Wooldridge

This listing is for lifetime donations, not donations made just within the calendar year. This list of donor names is strictly for the purpose of acknowledgement by the School of Journalism. Any other use is unauthorized. Although every effort has been made to ensure the completeness and accuracy of this listing, errors may occur.

Deans Club

Deans Club members are those generous alumni who give back to the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications with a contribution of $1,000 or more annually. 

These contributions are crucial to the success of the J-School and provide unrestricted support for the J-School’s initiatives. Matching gifts from corporations are included as part of Deans Club contributions.

“Without the support of our Deans Club members, we wouldn’t be able to provide the exceptional level of service that students and alumni deserve,” Journalism Dean Ann Brill said.

Deans Club dollars fund special initiatives in the School of Journalism, including:

  • Providing funds for student travel
  • Hosting special events for students and faculty
  • Funding for student and faculty achievement awards
  • Recruiting and retaining faculty
  • Providing scholarship support for students
  • Hosting visiting professionals who speak with students and faculty
  • Giving students and faculty the opportunity to take part in special educational programs 

Deans Club Giving Levels:

  • Ambassador Level: $10,000 and above
  • Benefactor Level: $5,000 to $9,999
  • Patron Level: $3,000 to $4,999
  • Member Level: $1,000 to $2,999

The following are donations made during the 2019 calendar year.

Corporate Deans Club


Centurions Inc.

Kansas Newspaper Foundation

Enid & Crosby Kemper Foundation

William T. Kemper Foundation

Kirk Foundation

National Auctioneers Association

Dwane L. & Velma Lunt Wallace Charitable Foundation

Deans Club Ambassadors

Danforth W. Austin & Gail Davenport Austin

Brian A. Bracco & Sarah Wallace Bracco

Ann M. Brill, PhD

Carl V. Ceder

Katherine Ruddy DeBruce

Jennifer Hagman, MD, & Don Hazell

Charlotte Kirk Howard & W. Jeffrey Howard

Carole Jackson Moreno

Dwight Parcell

Loretta Pendergraft

Fred J. Salinas

Gerald F. Seib & Barbara Rosewicz

Susanne M. Shaw

Calvert W. Simmons

Deans Club Benefactors

Stephen D. Edwards & Donna J. Edwards

CDR Daniel G. Felger, USN, Retired & Jean Herz

Malcolm D. Gibson & Joyce L. Gibson

Frances Smoley Hagman

Robert D. Karwath Jr.

William J. Redlin & Nina M. Redlin

Deans Club Patrons

David O. Ochoa & Emily Jean Ochoa, MD

Mary Sullivan

Lisa M. Tilson

Deans Club Members

Leonard P. Alfano & Deborah Taylor Alfano

Robert R. Basow & Lynn A. Basow

Conrad N. Bibens

Ryan D. Blethen

Dinah Swinehart Brock

Marc A. Buehler

Kenneth Burrows & Kristin Burrows

Kathleen M. Conkey

Thomas P. Cook

Kyle T. Craig & Elyse Winick Craig

Justin D. Dechant

Paul I. Dinovitz & Cathy Dinovitz

Pamela B. Fine & Judith G. Levy

John A. Frazee

Jane Peterson Ganz

Sally Gaskill

Mugur V. Geana & Anca Geana

Robert H. Giles & Nancy M. Giles

Cathy L. Gleason & Daniel J. Gleason

Dorothy Boller Hall & John P. Hall

Douglas A. Hundley & Molly Ege Hundley

Britton Hunter

Mark P. Johnson

Blaine L. King & Lyndel S. King

Kendra C. Knotts

Madelyn Brite Larkin

Joseph A. Lastelic, USA, Retired

Evie Lazzarino

Norman G. Magnuson Jr. & Daphne Polatty Magnuson

David A. Mikols & Julie Updegraff Mikols

Rand Mikulecky & Susan Pott Mikulecky

Jeff D. Minelli

Eric M. Morgenstern & Shanny R. Morgenstern

David A. Peacock & Jane D. Peacock

Sandra Dechant Pennington & Dane Pennington

Marilyn Zook Petterson & Michael T. Petterson

David S. Pierson

Mary Ann Powell & Nick Powell

Sally L. Reece

Janet S. Rose, PhD

Kathleen A. Saunders & Ronald K. Saunders

M. Marlys Shulda & Brian K. Shulda

Daniel J. Simon Jr. & Heidi J. Simon

Frank Slover & Deborah W. Slover

Gary M. Smith

Terri Hill Snyder & Steven A. Snyder

Kenneth F. Stephens

Craig A. Stock

Lynn Beall Trelstad

John K. White

Lorie Walker Worner & Rick J. Worner

The above list of donor names is strictly for the purpose of acknowledgement by the School of Journalism. Any other use is unauthorized. Although every effort has been made to ensure the completeness and accuracy of this listing, errors may occur.

Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today


Marlys Shulda
Associate Development Director
KU Endowment Association
1891 Constant Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66047