Bengtson Mentor Award


Dr. Tim Bengtson has taught and mentored more than 12,000 students during his more than 30 years at KU. During his tenure, Dr. Bengtson has established a legacy as an outstanding advisor to his students and a trusted friend to his colleagues in the School of Journalism and Mass Communications. This award honors and recognizes faculty members who demonstrate Dr. Bengtson’s dedication to student mentorship. These faculty members go above and beyond the classroom by lending a helping hand to inspire students to reach their full potential.

Mark Mears, one of his students who graduated from KU in 1984 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism/Advertising, established this annual award to celebrate Dr. Bengtson by rewarding particular faculty members in the school who encourage, guide and counsel students.


The winner will receive a $5,000 monetary award, her or his name on a plaque, and a memento.


  • The annual award will go to a tenure-track or tenured faculty member who has demonstrated wisdom in mentoring students to succeed beyond the classroom.
  • Nominees must have worked full-time in the School for a minimum of three years.
  • Past winners will be eligible again in five years.
  • Procedures
  • We encourage all students, staff and faculty members to nominate eligible colleagues for this award. We also encourage self-nominations.
  • Nominees will prepare a 1-2 page statement of her or his philosophy of mentoring as well as any pertinent and specific examples. Such examples might include authoring letters of recommendation for internships, scholarships, honorary societies, awards, graduate school, and employment; career counseling; critique of student resumes/portfolios/reels; working with students on interview skills; providing alumni contacts; time spent working “above and beyond” office hours for students to ask questions about class work or projects.
  • Submit a minimum of two letters of recommendation from current and/or former students.
  • The award committee also will solicit comments from student leaders, the professional academic
  • advisors, the track chairs, associate deans and the dean.
  • Send the materials to Dean Ann Brill, 200 Stauffer-Flint.
  • A committee comprised of students, staff and faculty members will review the statements and
  • make recommendations to the dean, who will make the final decision. The award will be given at the Scholarship and Awards ceremony.